Skip to content

Attitudinally Contrasting Photography

Sorry about the title.  But I was so inspired by Brian Tetrault’s video (see yesterday’s post) that I went looking through my own images taken over the last week or so, to see what attitude they conveyed.  They seem in fact to represent two contrasting relationships with the universe.  Here’s one that I was going to call Mt. Worcester.

Of course I don’t own the term, and you can see these mountains all over the City.  There must be hundreds of them.  This one is in fact now considerably bigger.  But you get the idea.  The attitude:  we are small in the face of such incredibly powerful natural phenomena.  Interestingly, some folks who are into denying the reality of global warming are using our harsh winter as proof positive that there is no such thing as global warming.  A Senator from Wyoming has actually introduced legislation that would change EPA scientists findings that global warming is a reality. Sorry, our winter means little if anything. There are 196 million square miles of surface on planet earth.  Our little neck of the woods is only a small small portion of that.  In fact, the storms reflect atmospheric volatility, not a big chill.  Just ask the folks in Australia and Brazil.  The water is rising. Attitude adjustment required.

So I thought I’d have a little fun.  If you watch the Weather Channel you know that they do a lot of “crowd sourcing.”  Instead of paying photographers and videographers for high quality work they get amateurs to submit stuff for free.  Not exactly a good business model if you’re a pro, but it is so common now I thought I might as well see what it’s all about. When I went to create my account at Weather.com so that I could upload my image, I had to sign off on a release that gave the Weather Channel (NBC, aka  Comcast) rights to my image (thankfully non-exclusive rights) that allow them to do pretty much anything they want with it, to it, around it, through it, etc. etc.  They can sell it, change it, turn it upside down, the long list goes on and on.  But my favorite part of the release was that I was being asked to grant those rights “throughout the universe, in perpetuity.”  I kid you not.  That’s a quote.  Wow, to think that my work will last forever, everywhere.  I really didn’t think it was that good.  I was honored.  Here’s my more upbeat post to Weather.com.  I called it “After the Storm.”

After posting my image I excitedly went to have a look at the competition on the Weather.com photo gallery.  There are, approximately, 8 million images there that look pretty much like this one.  Perpetuity may be a bit boring I’m afraid.  Attitude adjustment still required.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

