Skip to content

Of Forests and Men

We are reminded by events in Japan of just how fragile our world is, and how dependent we are on the good will of Mother Nature.  Our sympathies go out to those effected by the earthquake there.   There is very little that we an take for granted it seems, certainly not  in the natural world.

This week I”m again posting some work by another artist, Yann Arthus-Bertrand, who created a magnificent multimedia piece, Of Forests and Men. This is the International Year of Forests, a celebration (and wake up call) of the incredible importance of our relationship with forests, sponsored by the United Nations.  You can read more about it here.  One of the many aspects of this project that impresses me is the emphasis placed on the interweaving of science and art.  You can read more about their interesting approach toward educating about the forest at the link, so I’ll spare you the repetition here and offer this video as a great example.  (Those of you who don’t care about the environment will still enjoy this video I’d wager. The photography and production are terrific, a great example of what multimedia can do.   Give it a chance.)  Enjoy.

Unfortunately those of you viewing this on a hand held device may not be able to see the video.  Evidently WordPress, for security reasons, doesn’t allow embedding with I-frames.  What’s an I-frame?  Couldn’t tell you but in this case I guess it matters.  My apologies.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for posting this great video and helping to spread the important message it contains.
    I won’t post a long reply with my view on the ridiculous politics and unfortunate economics of this…I just hope it can make a difference and wake those who are not driven by survival but for reason of profit and “growth”choose to ignore the importance of forests, clean water and a healthy environment.

    March 13, 2011
  2. jameshuntphotography #

    Thanks. One of the reason I like Arthus-Bertrand’s work so much is that he is truly an artist and can, at least to my naive mind, use his artistic ability to transcend the politics a bit. Regardless, I’m happy to spread the word.

    March 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

