Skip to content

New Exhibition of Print Work at the Sorenson Center for the Arts

I’m happy to announce a new one artist exhibition of my work scheduled for the Richard W. Sorenson Center for the Arts at Babson College.  The exhibition is titled “Boston’s Water” and presents 13 black and white prints from the Quabbin Reservoir, taken over the last three years.

I have to say, staging an exhibition is far more work that I had realized.  Getting the right print of each image is only the beginning.  Framing is tough, but hanging the images has to be the worst. Luckily, I had the invaluable assistance (actually he did it, I assisted him) of Mark Lorenzo from the Sorenson Center and his colleagues.

The exhibition itself is kicking off a celebration at Babson of the Principles of Responsible Management Education developed under the leadership of the United Nations and to which Babson is a signatory. It is indeed the case that many of us involved in business education care deeply about the profound failures of ethical fiber and will we have all encountered over more than a decade.  Honestly though, it is an uphill battle. Students, even those interested in business, are very discouraged about our ability to right the ship and engage in commerce in a sustainable manner. Part of what is needed is better government regulation of commerce, but that’s not enough.  As a teacher, I see everyday the intense interest that students hold in making the world a better place (yes, believe it or not, business students as well). We have to help them realize their dreams.

I want to thank Elizabeth Goldberg, Associate Professor of English at Babson and Michelle Oshima, Director of the Sorenson Center for the Arts for signing me up.  I also want to thank David Akiba, Photography Instructor at Babson and an enormously talented fine art photographer himself, for his advice in pulling the exhibition together.  The exhibition is housed on the second floor of the Sorenson Center at Babson College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, in what is becoming the new photography exhibition space.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sandra #

    Congratulations! Babson will be awestruck, I think.

    September 24, 2011
    • jameshuntphotography #

      Thanks Sandra! They did seem interested!

      September 27, 2011
  2. Congratulations on the Exhibit, James. They are a lot of work for sure. I’m not good at the hanging either so I let my wife tell me where to hang the pictures. Good luck…I’m sure they will be received very well.

    September 24, 2011
    • jameshuntphotography #

      Thanks Stephen. So far so good!

      September 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

