Skip to content

Photographers of Planet Earth

I was recently honored by having been asked to submit my favorite image and some accompany text explanation to an interesting blog, Photographers of Planet Earth.  After agonizing over the question, which one is my favorite, this one got the nod.

Hunt_120323_165433-Edit-Edit

It’s actually been posted here before, so I guess I really do like it.  The question though as I say got me thinking.  They wanted my favorite, not the ones that others might like.  It’s actually a useful way to reflect on your work.  If you click over there, you’ll see what I had to say the choice, so I won’t bore you here.

If you like nature oriented photography, I’d encourage you to have a look at Photographers of Planet Earth.  They don’t seem to be selling anything at this point, so you only stand to risk a bit of your time.  Thanks for stopping by.

UPDATE:  Speaking of selling something,, I just went to preview my blog, a common act before publishing it, and found that in the preview WordPress was warning me that my visitors would be seeing advertisements, over which I had no control.  So it could be some horrendous political garbage or other kinds of crap, which would for me hurt the experience of the viewer.  It’s enough that you have to put up with my rants, you shouldn’t be exposed to worse.  So, I purchased the “No Ad” upgrade.  I didn’t really mind, WordPress has been hosting this blog for quite some time for no charge, they have to make money and selling ads is the way to do it.  The bottom line is, you shouldn’t see any ads on this site.  If you do please let me know via the comments.  Thanks.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am sure that if asked to pick my favorite I would have a hard time and then probably would choose something that had a quality unseen in the image but burning brightly in my memory…just a phrase as nothing burns brightly in my memory anymore. I like your favorite but would not even hazard a guess as to why you chose it, James. I enjoy the action of the birds and might guess that they are squabbling about sharing the same perch or maybe there is some courting happening. But I feel there is more to it than I can gather from the image for you.
    Regarding the ads…your subscription seems to have worked as I don’t see an ad. Never did so it may not be universal. But I have had comments about ads on mine too and signed out once so I could see it. Nothing objectionable except for actually being an ad.

    Now I will click through to see what you had to say about your image. 🙂

    September 24, 2013
    • I got the squabbling part right. 🙂 As I said, your reason was not what was in my mind. The fact that you experienced some of the relationship was more what I was thinking so I was close.
      Now I think I should decide on a favorite and submit that also.

      September 24, 2013
      • Hi Steve
        Alas, not as intimate as I would have liked. The picture is heavily cropped as I only had a 300 mm lens. That used to seem so long, but not when it comes to birds! You should definitely submit to this site. I had a correspondence with the owner of the site. He’s really doing this out of a love for photography, nothing more. Your work defintely belongs there if anyone does.

        Thanks for the feedback on the ads. It looks like the thirty bucks was indeed enough to keep them off the site. I don’t fault wordpress, they have to make money somehow.

        James

        September 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

