Skip to content

On the Road: Manteo Harbor

Manteo is one of two rather large towns on Roanoke Island.  I gather Manto is not considered legally part of the Outer Banks of North Carolina, but psychologically they are absolutely connected.  I learned that they aren’t legally connected in a most interesting way.  If you go into a grocery store on the actual Outer Banks, say in Nags Head or Kitty Hawk, when your groceries are bagged, assuming you didn’t bring in shopping bags, they are bagged in paper.  No white plastic bags.  It’s wonderful. I despise white plastic bags.  If you live in a city, they liter the landscape.  They are of course not recyclable.  Yuk. But I digress. I mentioned how much I liked that to a clerk at one point and he informed me that plastic bags are illegal on the Outer Banks because of the hazard they represent for various types of birds and for related environmental reasons.  How refreshing is that?  But in Manteo, they are in fact legal.  However, most stores there have paper bags readily available if so desired.

Manteo Harbor is a lovely place and the Town has worked hard to make it so.  I normally don’t spend a lot of time on locations such as this because others have typically done a nice job, better than I could do, of telling the story here.  The Town and Harbor for instance have had to fight back against hurricanes and related storms, as you can imagine.  These images though are from a nice windy day, which suggested to me that more long exposure work could be useful.  I was relatively pleased with the results, but ran into a significant problem/learning opportunity.  Docs may seem stable, but they are not.  When you’re exposing for ten or more seconds, everything, including your camera, is going to be moving no matter how hard you try to keep the camera and the subject stable.  So, we experiment, a critical ingredient I think of growing as a photographer/person.

Hunt150603_DSC7373

Hunt150603_DSC7387

Hunt150603_DSC7395

More to come.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gladys #

    Love that first photo with the slight blurriness of the flag & pole. I stared at it for a long time. Thanks for posting.

    June 14, 2015
  2. Thanks!

    June 14, 2015
  3. Sandra #

    You’ve bagged such beautiful photos. (Sorry I couldn’t help myself.) I especially like the soft contast between the natural and weathered man-made beauties at Manteo.Thank you.

    June 15, 2015

Leave a Reply

