Skip to content

A Holiday Gift

It’s been a challenging year, largely health wise.  I’m very glad it’s passing for the most part, though many good things have happened.  You realize who you can count on when times are tough and I’m blessed with some folks who were there for me.  My, wife, daughter and son-in-law are at the top of the list, along with a crucially important poodle, a couple of very good doctors and some friends.  Things are looking up so perhaps more productivity will be visible very shortly.  To all who have faced tough times, and there are so many in our world, I hope your 2016 offers some hope.

I must confess, then that in spite of their efforts to assist me, I hate going to the doctor.  It’s not the doctor, it’s going for the visit.  This is my problem, not their problem, but I hate it regardless.  I don’t know what the issue is, but it has always been with me even though I grew up around doctors.    Yesterday, we had the last visit for 2015 (but, ah, it ain’t over yet…..I know, I know, I’m knocking on wood as fast as I can!).  I was relieved, to say the least.  We’re heading home and looking for a creative thing to do for lunch.  Of course, it is spring time in New England (I know, I’m really tempting fate here for the second time in the same blog posting.  I’m sure I will be sorry I said that in a few days or weeks at most).  The temperature is unseasonably warm.  We decided to stop off at the South Natick Dam, a very contemplative spot along the Charles River in the town of Natick, Massachusetts.  Got a couple of chicken caesar wraps and went to sit on one of the benches along the river.  It was very dark and still cool, but getting warmer.  Actually, the air was becoming warmer than the very still water.  The show began.

Fog started to come drift down the river, which was so still it offered perfect reflections.  Always have a camera with you, and I don’t mean an iPhone.  I’ll let the images tell the rest of the story.

_DSC8469_DSC8467_DSC8465_DSC8480_DSC8479_DSC8466

_DSC8468

A nice Christmas gift, the left us almost as quickly as it arrived.  Happy Holidays to you and yours.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gladys #

    What a nice Christmas gift to see the Charles River at the South Natick dam. We lived in Natick for 11 years, and that was my go-to place for meditation & reflection. Praying for good health for you & the best New Year for you & your family. Merry Christmas to all.

    December 24, 2015
  2. Thanks so much Gladys. Happy New Year.

    December 27, 2015

Leave a Reply

